Colour Challenge Update: June – Blue

ocean

Sorry for the delay! Life grabbed hold of me like a crocodile’s jaws and pulled me under the water, rolling me over and over. But I escaped!

So, where were we? Ah BLUE. We were doing a colour challenge for every month, weren’t we? Yes, well, I’ve been sticking to it. Totally by accident. I just like using blue a lot. I rarely even thought about it this month, just got stuck in.

What have I achieved or learned this month? Well, I did a variety of things actually. A lot of my stuff was testing my abilities and my style. Seeing what looked good, what needed work. I didn’t get to do much digital as my laptop broke and I didn’t get a new battery charger until near the end of the month. I’ve also been doing a lot of construction work in and out of the house, which took up a lot of my time. I didn’t get to do as much drawing in general again this month. But that’s not to say the work I have done has been little. Most of the work has been in here *points to head*, in my noggin’.

I decided that I’d like to set up a YouTube channel for my art and organic healthy living. Maybe combine the two as I’m too lazy to do two channels. I’ll probably just put the videos in two separate playlists. I also went back to an old Instagram account I started way before my art, which focused on a mishmash of healthy eating, fashion and makeup. I did it with a friend and the page dwindled to a halt over a year ago. I was busy, she moved on to her own makeup account. But I left it because my lifestyle hasn’t changed, in fact it’s become even more entwined in organic, chemical-free living. But I just didn’t have the time to keep it up on the Instagram page.

I still don’t right now if I’m honest. Though once I get a new phone–with a working camera–I can snap pics and post them. Pictures of food, new products, linking to my YouTube channel. It’s something I know a lot about, and I’m passionate about, so why not? But it’s something for the future, not necessarily right now.

And as for art videos, that’ll have to wait too. As well as the house construction and busy lifestyle that comes with having a six month old in need of breastmilk, and a daughter in need of love and attention, and a husband in need of all that too–save the breastmilk–I don’t have the right equipment right now. My daughter will also be off for six weeks for the summer, then she’ll be back in September in year 1. Gosh, time flies.

And I currently have a tablet that has an okayish camera, no workspace, no stand or tripod for it, and I’m still learning a new app. FYI, I spent over a week, on and off, searching for a decent video editing app. Bloody turns out I had one on my tablet from ages ago, which works perfectly alongside YouTube.

It’s Videoshop for Android.  Windows is shit for apps, and I don’t like my phone because of that reason–it’s not Wins 10 so I can’t compare the difference). So far, so good. I’ll get there.

As well as discovering my desire for making videos, reviewing products, doing speedpaints and reviving an old Instagram account, I’ve discovered a newfound love for calligraphy. Not calligraphy itself–as that’s an old and deep love I’ve had for as long as I can remember–I’m talking about actually writing calligraphy myself.

I’ve been practising a few days now and I’m already getting the hang of it, though it will take a long time before I can create professional, beautiful work. I’ve tried using my beloved Faber Castell Artist Pitt pens (which I would like to do a video review of as soon as I can) and also thick Crayola pens. Next, I’ll be using a thick Sharpie pen with the slanted nib and watercolour using a paintbrush or maybe even a Pentel aquash pen–should anyone ever buy me one…

And maybe I could do a video showing the difference between the pens.

Eventually, I’d love to get a dip pen with those nibs. They’re so pretty, and create wonderful lines. Which is why my previous amount of calligraphy accounts I followed has probably doubled this past week.

Remember what I said in a previous post about how erratic my attentions span is? How easily distracted I am? Yup. That’s me.

On another note, I recently bought some art supplies! YAAAAAAY! So, I now have a notebook (kinda like a Moleskine, but very cheap–by Nu Elite), some watercolour pads and sketchpads, ballpoint pens/biros in loads of colours, and some fine line pens that were super cheap, and when I tried them just to scribble a few lines to see what it was like, I gasped with delight. They’re super thin and scratchy, just how I like, but smooth too. I’m looking forward to trying that out. And also my watercolour pad, as I have watercolour pencils that haven’t even been used yet. And watercolour paint that will get used just as soon as I have my workspace set up.

Which, speaking of, may be happening sooner than I thought! I just bought wall tables (the kind that folds down) and they’re so cool. I’m waiting on their delivery as of today (it’s the 4th July as I’m writing–happy holidays by the way to my ‘Merican friends). As soon as the house is cleared of crap, boxes, tools, rubble, dust and more crap, we can hang them up and start using. And I can do that highly coveted workspace photo. Yayyyyyy.

So, as you can see. This last month of blue was full of inspiration, new stuff, new beginnings. And plans for the future. I’m happy where I am, and looking forward to moving forward. I’m not doing as well as others in terms of gaining followers at a great speed, but I’m not as good as them. And that’s cool. I’m here to learn, to enjoy, and only when I’ve achieved a certain level, will I feel comfortable in pursuing a professional career. Sure, I’m doing freelance work, but I’m not confident in my skills to approach companies for a job.

I’d say to those of you who aren’t certain about whether they’re ready to approach a company–it’s something you feel in your gut. Let’s be honest–artists, writers, musicians, all those who pursue a creative art, are never content with what they do and achieve. They always think they can do better and constantly compare their skill level with others. It can be a very soul-destroying lifestyle, and it makes it hard to judge your work.

My advice, based on what I’ve seen and what I know myself, is to focus on your portfolio. They say a portfolio should have a max of around sixteen pieces of art. And each one should display clearly what you can do, and what you WANT to do. It should be relevant to the job you’re applying for, it should be striking and scream YOU, whilst also showing a good variation of what you can create. And it should be your BEST work, not just what you have.

I’m not there yet. I haven’t created a portfolio as yet, but I know what I want to do with it, and that’s a start. Once that is done, I can say that I’m ready to show off my stuff, and aside from practising, sketching daily, focusing on weaknesses and improving there, I don’t see what more I can do to be ready. If the time is right, and you have that portfolio behind you, take the leap. Send that company an email, post your portfolio on places like ArtStation and Behance.

If you’re denied the jobs you apply for, it’s not always because your art isn’t good, it’s just not what they’re looking for, not right now anyway. One day, your art will be perfect for the right client at the right time. Hang in there, and keep drawing. I plan to, and I plan to enjoy it.

Here’s my blue collection. I cheated a little as I did some of these in May as well. Next month and onwards is a little confusing for me, I’m not sure why I did it like this…

colour palette months

I’m not sure if July is dark blue or indigo, and then August and September look like different shades of purple. So, I’m going to alter that slightly and go with:

July – Indigo

August – Purple

Sep – Magenta

That should work. Hopefully.

And here you go.

 

One thought on “Colour Challenge Update: June – Blue

Leave a Reply

