Mother Nature’s Marvellous Medicines! After Pregnancy – Coconut Oil

biona-coconutoil400

I hope that title was clear enough. But in case you didn’t get it.

COCONUT OIL IS THE SHITTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT. Excuse the pun. You’ll get why it’s a pun in a minute.

I’ll be posting an old post from my old blog that touches on coconut oil, but I can’t stress this enough… COCONUT OIL IS THE GOD OF ALL OILS AS FAR AS I’M CONCERNED. I love natural oils and use various ones for various things. Both essential and carrier oils. I highly recommend swapping all of your brand moisterisers, cleansers, make-up removers, for natural oils and products. I don’t use commercial brands for anything. I mean ANYTHING.

My toothpaste, shampoo/conditioner, soaps, moisterisers, cleaning products, washing up liquid and laundry detergent, deodorant, make-up, cotton pads, period pads, even TOILET CLEANER are all from non-commercial organic/natural/environmentally friendly etc etc. sources. I have so many brands I could recommend to you, and so many natural remedies from foods to oils but let’s leave that for another day….days.

Well, if you don’t know already, coconut oil is useful for just about anything, from healing wounds, to moisterising skin, reviving dry hair, treating acne, cooking food, putting in coffee and smoothies for the good fat, using as a mouthwash (oil pulling, which I’ll get to in another post). But I didn’t realise it would be a lifesaver too.

I had my baby boy over three months ago. It was a very quick natural birth (with gas and air), and was very painful compared to my daughter, thanks to my waters not breaking until halfway through pushing. Anyway, let’s not get into that.

Despite having a baby before, there are things that you forget, and things that don’t happen with one child but do with the next. Things that my midwife (and my mummy friends’ midwives) failed to tell me ( and them) through all the appointments and visits.

AFTER PAINS

*POW!*

CONSTIPATION

*POW!*

BREASTFEEDING FAUX PAS

*POW!*

YUP, WE GONNA BE TALKING ABOUT POO, BOOBIES AND CHILDBIRTH. DEAL WITH IT.

It shouldn’t be embarrassing to talk about, but it is a common problem with women who after all the pain (and stitches) they endure from childbirth, discover going to the toilet can become the stuff of nightmares. You fear going and–speaking of going–it’s the equivalent of shitting razor blades.

RAZOR BLADES.

That needed to be repeated in CAPITALS. It is agony and it is embarrassing and horrible and mortifying and makes grown women (and men) weep. What am I talking about?

ANAL FISSURES. Google it.

But to summarise, it’s a tear/rip of the anus.

What makes me burn with a thirst for the blood of doctors and midwives who fail to mention this laugh is that on the NHS website (UK health website), in the article definition about anal fissures, it says quite clearly:

What causes anal fissures?

Anal fissures are most commonly caused by damage to the lining of the anus or anal canal.

Most cases occur in people who have constipation, when a particularly hard or large stool tears the lining of the anal canal.

Other possible causes of anal fissures include:

Thanks for telling us, you incompetent morons!

So if the constipation, due to being packed up, due to pregnancy hormones, wasn’t bad enough, if you don’t prepare your body to relieve the constipation (making sure you’re always hydrated, eating stool softening foods), you’re in for a nasty shock.

With my daughter, I went *gives significant look towards toilet* without problems, so I assumed I’d be okay. My stitches with her were much more…intricate? She came out in what is referred to as ‘the Superman pose’ This time, with my son, the tear was minor. So I thought, yeah, I’ll be fine.

NOPE. NOPE. NOPE.

You get the picture. Me screaming profanities, leaning over the bog (toilet), praying to all that is holy that I can pass a stool without the god awful pain. And wondering what the hell can I do to end this torture?

I Googled like a boss. And came across several articles on good ol’ coconut oil, as well as trusty olive oil. I tried both, but the olive oil was difficult to apply. I didn’t use it as much, but I’m sure it helped too.

With the coconut oil, I applied some to the sore spot (sometimes you have to insert your CLEAN finger inside to reach the tear) and dabbed a good dollop BEFORE and AFTER going. Applying before works as a lubricant, and helped so much. I did this every time I went to the toilet (even if I just had to pee) until after just THREE DAYS I went to the toilet with ease and the pain had completely gone. The heavens opened, birds sang, all that lovely stuff. Then the cut healed by the end of the week.

I cannot sing and dance its praises enough.

But wait, there’s more!

CRACKED NIPPLES

Yup. Breastfeeding can come with some unpleasantness. When feeding your baby is the most magical, natural thing in the world, there is nothing worse than cracked nipples or blocked milk ducts (mastitis). It is SO painful.

I breastfed my daughter for almost two years, no problem. I never had cracked nipples. She latched on just fine from the very first time to the last.

I was in the hospital a few hours after the birth of my son, when he woke up and started crying. I decided to try feeding him. Instead of doing it laying on my side (this is an important point I’ll get to in a mo), I tried feeding him in the usual hold, sitting up with my arm supporting his back. He latched on wrong. And from just that one or two bad latches, my boobs said NO THANKS and became very sore. They then cracked (basically they get scabs) and it became unbearable to feed him. I was unfortunate to do that to both breasts. *Facepalm*

I was so angry with myself. “How could I get it wrong? I’ve done this before!” I told myself. But it wasn’t my fault. It happens. Not every kid is the same, and it’s easy to get it ‘wrong’. It’s not your fault.

Thinking back, what I should have done, because I did this with my daughter when I couldn’t get her to latch on (she couldn’t find me, not that she latched but latched on wrong), was to lie on my side, prop my head on my hand or rest my head on a plump pillow and have him lay next to me and feed him that way. As soon as I tried that after several days of doing the lap hold, it made things so much easier. I didn’t do it initially because of the pains I had.

AFTER PAINS.

That lovely, shitty thing that the midwife also failed to mention. First baby, no probs. Slight cramping sensation, usually when feeding as it stimulates the hormones to contract your uterus gradually back to its original size. Second baby, contractions were like LABOUR. And on top of the agony of cracked nipples, I had that too, and I didn’t dare lie down to feed him (which would have saved me a ton of grief) because I knew that every time I fed him, I’d get these stabbing pains, and I needed to be able to curl forward, and press down on my abdomen. It didn’t help much but it made me feel like I had some sense of control.

Back to the CRACKED NIPPLES.

The only thing that worked with these (I didn’t have natural lanolin cream at the time) was to get a cotton pad (organic ones I use for make-up removal) put a nice sized dollop of coconut oil on the pad and stick it to my no-fun bags with medical tape. I would do this after every feed and sometimes in between. It took about five days for feeds to go from nightmare to blissfully pain free, and the scabs peeled and healed after about a week.

HUZZAH! And I haven’t had any problems with any of the above since.

DOUBLE HUZZAH!

So, that’s my two golden cents about the wonders and miracles of coconut oil. When you’ve suffered as much pain as I did the first month or so during and after birth, you’d also call it a miracle. For those of you who suffer/are suffering from any of these things, I recommend ORGANIC, COLD-PRESSED COCONUT OIL. I use Biona.

In a later post, I’ll talk more about breastfeeding because that’s where I currently am in my life, and I’m just like you mummies out there, where I’ve had so many questions and worries and didn’t know where to look. But I’ve researched a lot and I’ll be sharing what I’ve discovered about foremilk/hindmilk, why you shouldn’t worry about your baby not getting enough milk or getting too much, and why breast milk is medicine for your baby, including for colic and constipation. I’m no expert, and I’m not a doctor, so you’ll have to come to your own conclusions on whatever I talk about.

But I’m usually right.

*smirk*

Leave a Reply

